30 Wild Days: day 9 – the fairy and the thrush

I’m a few days behind on my #30DaysWild posts.
On Tuesday I spotted song thrush egg by the path.
I always wonder if it’s the exhausted parents (I know how they feel…) snacking I’m the energy filled egg or through predators stealing it that put the shell in odd places.

Song Thrushes have a fair amount of folklore attached to them,  but my favourite is a piece of Irish lore.

It was said that the fairies demanded the song thrushes nest close to the ground so they could hear the birds singing.

If the thrush built the nest high in the bushes it was said the fairies were unhappy and bad luck would befall the neighbourhood.

image

2 thoughts on “30 Wild Days: day 9 – the fairy and the thrush

  1. julietwilson says:

    I like the story about the fairies and the thrush.

    After the chick hatches, the parents will take the broken shell away from the nest and drop it, to stop predators finding the nest

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

